Fifty-nine finalists have been named across 11 categories for The Dominion Post Sport and Recreation Awards 2021, which will be celebrating achievements from the past two years.


With more than 170 nominations to consider this year's list of finalists is an incredible testament to the positive impact that sport and recreation makes in the Wellington region.

The finalists and winners are selected by an independent panel of distinguished judges who come from a range of backgrounds including elite and community sport, journalism, and business.

See the full list of finalists below and secure your ticket now to join us and all the finalists on Wednesday June 23 at the TSB Arena. 

Craigs Investment Partners 

Sportswoman of the Year

Amelia Kerr - Cricket

Ammeliaranne Ekenasio - Netball

Darae Chung - Golf

Elizabeth Ross - Rowing

Jackie Kiddle - Rowing

Sophie Devine - Cricket

Speedy Signs

Emerging Sportswoman of the Year

Alice Fahey - Rowing

Diana Galloway - Squash

Elizabeth Hewitt - Athletics

Erin Knox - Para Swimming

Lace Tangianau - Softball

Paris Lokotui - Netball

Holdsworth Charitable Trust

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year

Corran Hanning - Athletics

Erin Knox - Swimming

Greg Reid - Shooting

Joshua Taylor - Athletics/Cross Country


Team of the Year

Te Wananga O Raukawa Pulse - Netball

Team Wellington - Football

Wellington Blaze - Cricket

Wellington Firebirds - Cricket

Wellington Saints - Basketball


Sportsman of the Year

Alex Sims - Gymnastics

Ardie Savea - Rugby

Devon Conway - Cricket

Josh Junior - Sailing

Lewis Clareburt - Swimming

Marcus Daniell - Tennis


Wellington Sports Med

Emerging Sportsman of the Year

Ben Waine - Football

Jack Silver - Water Skiing

Liam Lamb - Athletics

Ruben Love - Rugby

Sam Brown - Swimming

Will Anthony - Athletics


Official of the Year

Cory Black - Cricket

Gareth Fowler - Netball

Josh Bowring - Netball

Michelle Woolf - Gymnastics

Wellington City Council

Community Initiative of the Year

Faye Walker - NOFO Fitness

The Shift Foundation - Just Shift It & Te Tauoranga

Wellington BGI - Youth Work at Mobile Gym

Wellington City Mission - Community Sports Bank

Yeah! Girls Wellington - Cricket

Fortune Favours

Volunteer of the Year

Dean Eager - Football

Joe O'Neill - Rowing

John Morgan - Golf

Marshall Clark - Athletics

Reianna Taiaroa - Softball 

Rochelle Roddick - Cricket/Hockey

Villa Maria

Coach of the Year

Gary Hollywood - Swimming

Glenn Pocknall - Cricket

Hilton Parker - Stockcar

Matthew Lane - Golf

Paul Henare - Basketball

Scott Hales - Football

Trish McKelvey

Leadership Award

Bailey Te Maipi - Skateboarding

Brendan Owens - Community Sport and Recreation

Cam Mitchell - Cricket

Chris Kingston - Judo

Tim Shannahan - Tennis

The Wellington Sport and Recreation Awards are proudly brought to you by

Nuku Ora, an independent body for physical activity in the greater Wellington region. We are a Regional Sports Trust (RST) dedicated to improving the wellbeing of the communities we serve.

Event terms and conditions - view here.

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • LinkedIn